A day at the Newseum with WJMC and Friends

Today The National Correspondents from the Washington Journalism and Media conference went to visit the Newseum and the National Press Club. At the Newseum we did a lot of walking around looking at exhibits. One of the objects on display that moved me the most was the Unabombers cabin. It struck the most when I walked up to it’s front door looked in and felt a deep shiver in my spine as the cold dank smell of old wood hit the inside of my nose, I knew i needed a picture. But I wanted more of a piece of artwork than just an ole pic for the snapchat. I wanted to try and capture the eeriness that I felt looking into the cabin where various bombs and guns were once constructed. Below is my first attempt at taking the picture.

_DSC4492

While it is a decent photograph, and it is somewhat dark and eerie, I wanted something that really captured the feeling of the photo. So I adjusted some settings of my camera and broke a very important rule of photography, try to eliminate as much excess noise as possible. Instead I wanted as much as possible, I wanted an image that could be straight of a found footage film. Below is my final product.

_DSC4497.JPG

As well as adding more noise to the photo by raising my ISO to add noise and using a faster shutter speed to eliminate the extra light that I didn’t want, the framing of the photo is also a bit different. The second photo is turned more towards the shelving unit, the same shelving unit that was once used to store bomb and weapon making materials.


 

Leave a Reply

